The Curriculum takes account of the National Policy on Education and offers students the opportunity to specialise in the Science, Arts or Commercial field. Each student will follow the core curriculum and then select additional subjects based on his/her area of specialisation.
Students will be prepared for the West African Senior School Certificate Examination (WASSCE) and the National Examination Council (NECO) both of which are examined in SS3.
The College  also offer the Cambridge IGCSE  (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) programme. As the Cambridge IGCSE is compatible with other curricula, internationally relevant and sensitive to different needs and cultures, the courses will be offered alongside the Nigerian Curriculum meaning that students will be prepared for WASSCE, NECO (optional) and IGCSE.
The Core Subjects
• English Language*
• Mathematics*
• Biology*
• Computer Studies*
• Civic Education
• Marketing
• English Literature or Geography*

Choose Three/Four Subjects from your area of specialisation


Science Arts
• Chemistry*   Literature in English
• Physics*     Government
• Further Mathematics*   Geography*
• Technical Drawing Economics*
• Agricultural Science* CRK/IRK/Religious Studies*
• Food and Nutrition*  


*indicates subjects available for IGCSE examination.

The Cambridge International Primary Programme (CIPP)
The Cambridge International Primary Programme gives schools all over the world the framework to develop Mathematics, English and Science skills and knowledge in young children.

The Primary Programme provides guidance for curriculum development and classroom teaching and learning and it allows teachers to assess children’s learning as they progress. The CIPP consists of a number of components that fit together to provide schools with tools they can use to help their students acquire knowledge and skills.

The CIPP comprises:
• The Cambridge Primary Curriculum Framework – to help teachers develop high quality programmes for teaching young children English, Mathematics and Science. It is accessible through a secure website ( for which we will receive login information once accredited.

• The Cambridge Primary Progression Tests – available for the last 4 years of primary education and designed to allow teachers to follow the progress of their students over time and analyze performance within their classes and against an external benchmark.

• The Cambridge International Primary Achievement Tests – to be taken by students at the end of their final year of primary education. CIE will moderate these tests and issue students with Certificates of Achievement.

• Primary Teacher Support Resources – available to schools to support the implementation and teaching of the CIPP. CIE offers a planning booklet, teacher training, schemes of work and a website providing access to online resources and international discussion groups.

Cambridge Lower Secondary Programme
The Cambridge Lower Secondary Programme is a framework for increasing educational success for students in Years 7 to 9 (Key Stage 3). This programme builds on the primary stage, and develops student’s knowledge and skills in Mathematics, English and Science.

The Lower Secondary Programme also provides us with a means of tracking student progress through the lower Secondary phase, with an integrated package of teaching, learning and assessment materials.

At the end of Year 7 and Year 8 students take the Progression Tests in Mathematics, English and Science. These are designed to allow teachers to follow the progress of their students over time and analyze performance within their classes and against an external benchmark. These Progression Tests lead on from the CIPP tests for Years 3, 4, 5, and 6. At the end of Lower Secondary (Year 9), students sit Cambridge Checkpoint tests which provide detailed feedback on students’ strengths and weaknesses before they move into the Key Stage 4, IGCSE. It also provides a fair assessment of how well an individual student will do in the IGCSE examinations for the stated subjects.

International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE)
The Secondary school curriculum at OBES is anchored by the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE), an external examination programme designed for 14 to 16 year olds (Years 10 to 11) and based upon the National Curriculum of England and Wales.

The IGCSE provides a very broad programme of study in areas such as languages, social studies, science, mathematics, creative arts and vocational subjects. In each subject there is a balance between practical and theoretical knowledge but the emphasis in almost all subjects is skills related to that subject.

The curriculum is designed so that students can use examples related to their own experiences and residence. The nature of the programme is such that students of different abilities can follow it. Further it is designed for students whose first language may not be English.

Students sit examinations at the end of the IGCSE course, usually in year 11. These examinations are marked by experienced external examiners appointed by CIE.

IGCSE is recognised internationally and it is evidence of ability to academics and employers throughout the world. The programme prepares students for further academic courses which would be followed in years 12 and 13 at school.

CIE is a division of the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate this in turn is part of the University of Cambridge. UCLES has developed and promoted qualifications at a variety of levels for at least 150 years. CIE was set up in 1998 to administer the expansion of IGCSE and other international qualifications.

AS and AL Qualifications
Cambridge International A Level is the world’s most popular international examination for 17–18 year olds.

As one of the most recognised qualifications around the world, it is accepted as proof of academic ability for entry to universities worldwide.

Cambridge International A Levels typically takes two years to complete and offer a flexible course of study that gives students the freedom to select subjects that are right for them. There are five passing grades (A–E).

Minimum matriculation requirements are at least two pass grades. Good A Level grades can be a key to admission for the entire world’s major Anglophone universities. University course credit and advanced standing is often available in countries such as the USA and Canada, and good grades in carefully chosen A Level subjects can result in up to one full year of credit.

Advanced Subsidiary (AS) Level represents the first half of a full A level course and gives students the opportunity of studying a broader range of subjects without committing to doing a full A Level. As with A Levels these enable students to apply successfully to universities throughout the world.